Skip to content
VibeGameDB
Archmage Idle store artwork

Archmage Idle

2026 · TopCog · Solo

An idle RPG about running a wizard guild where every skill multiplies the others; its developer says it is fully vibe-coded.

Where to play

Links go to the official store or developer page. Last verified Nov 3, 2026.

Where to play

Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.

  • SteamReleasedFree-to-Play

    Download through the Steam app. A free Steam account is required.

    Desktop · Steam

    View on Steam
  • App StoreReleasedFree-to-Play

    Install from Apple's App Store on an iPhone or iPad.

    Mobile · Official link verified Nov 3, 2026.

    View on the App Store

About Archmage Idle

An idle and incremental RPG in which you run a wizard guild. Skills feed two sides of the game: Attunement, Summoning and Sigilry power the wizards fighting across an elemental hex map, Research, Runecrafting, Alchemy, Mercantile and Scavenging keep resources coming in, and skills such as Chronomancy, Diplomacy and Appraisal tie the two together. Each skill multiplies global production and other skills, and the guild keeps working while you are offline; an optional Turbo mode turns it into an active game with no offline gains. TopCog, a one-person studio whose earlier games include Tap Wizard 2, says the project is fully vibe-coded: over about four months the developer designed the mechanics and the backend architecture but did not write the code by hand. The art is vector graphics written by Codex and rendered to PNG images, per the developer, and the Steam disclosure says no AI image models were used. The tool that wrote the game code is not named. Free with in-app purchases on Steam (Windows, macOS, Linux) and the App Store; also on Android.

incrementalwizard-guildskillingoffline-progresscross-platform

Screenshots and art

Archmage Idle key art · Steam store artwork

Archmage Idle store artwork
Archmage Idle key art · 1 / 5

How it was built

Verified

In a launch post on r/incremental_games the developer, who says they have programmed for more than 20 years and made games full time for more than 10, calls the project fully “vibe-coded”: they did not write the code by hand, but over about four months architected all the backend infrastructure, designed all the game mechanics and turned it into a playable game. The game's Steam AI disclosure says a solo developer used AI-assisted coding tools throughout development and made all creative direction, game design and visual-style decisions. Neither source names the tool that wrote the game code. The art is also code: the developer says Codex wrote the vector graphics that are rendered to PNG images (the Steam disclosure calls this AI-generated SVG code); no source says Codex wrote the game code, so it is not listed as the game's AI tool.

Supporting evidence
  • DeveloperSteam AI disclosure: built by a solo developer using AI-assisted coding tools throughout development, including to generate the SVG code rendered into the game's icons; no AI image generation models were used for the artwork. — Steam
Development approach

One developer, per the studio's site and the Steam disclosure. The developer says they architected the backend infrastructure and designed the mechanics while AI tools wrote the code, over about four months. The art was also made as code: vector graphics written by Codex and rendered to PNGs. The game shipped on the App Store first and on Steam two weeks later, and the developer has kept updating it (iOS version 3.0.2 on 1 Nov 2026).

Engine / framework
Not disclosed
Languages
Not disclosed
Team size
1 (solo)Developer ReportedTopCog
Initial build time
About 4 months of work to launchDeveloper ReportedReddit (via reddit.sentinel-team.org archive)
Development time
Not disclosed
Development cost
Not disclosed
AI-written code
Not disclosed
“This project is fully “vibe-coded,” which means I didn’t write the code by hand.”
— TopCog, Archmage Idle is now available on Android, iOS, and Steam! (r/incremental_games, u/TopCog; mirror snapshot)

Verification notes: AI use from two developer sources: the AI disclosure on the game's Steam page (AI-assisted coding tools throughout development, including SVG code for the icons; no AI image models) and the launch post by u/TopCog on r/incremental_games, read through a mirror snapshot captured 3 Jul 2026 (the original reddit.com URL was not checked). The post links the same Steam, App Store and Google Play listings as the studio's site and its account name matches the studio; the site does not link the Reddit account. “Fully vibe-coded”, the four months of work and Codex for the art come from the post; the Steam disclosure uses the milder “AI-assisted coding tools” and names no tool. Codex is recorded only for the art code, as the developer describes it. Solo development and the founder's name from topcoggaming.com. Release dates: App Store 18 Jun 2026 (Apple's lookup data), Steam 2 Jul 2026 (Steam store API); the Reddit post announced all three stores together on 3 Jul. The Google Play version (com.topcog.archmageidle), linked from the studio site, is not listed because Google Play is not a platform we track. The App Store showed 4.5 out of 5 from 74 ratings on 3 Nov 2026 (observed; not recorded as a metric). Review figures from the Steam store page (the review API returned nothing when checked); languages from the Steam store API. No source mentions generative AI running during play.

Development history

  1. Released on the App Store, free with in-app purchases.

  2. Released free on Steam for Windows, macOS and Linux.

    OfficialSteam
  3. Early July 2026 (archived 3 Jul 2026)

    The developer announces the game on Android, iOS and Steam on r/incremental_games, with an AI disclosure: fully vibe-coded, with the art written by Codex as vector graphics.

  4. Version 3.0.2 released on the App Store.

Game performance

Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.

Steam

Free on the Steam store API on 3 Nov 2026; the store lists in-app purchases. Windows, macOS and Linux.

Steam reviews
Observed
167
as of Nov 3, 2026Steam

All reviews as shown on the store page.

Positive Steam reviews
Observed
68%
as of Nov 3, 2026Steam

As shown on the store page (“Mixed”). Recent reviews (last 30 days): 85% of 27.

All-time peak concurrent players
Not disclosed

Not publicly available: Concurrent players, Estimated owners, Copies sold, Gross revenue.

App Store (iOS)

Free with in-app purchases (US store, observed 3 Nov 2026). Requires iOS 15.0 or later.

Downloads
Not disclosed

Not publicly available: Gross revenue.

Reviews & rankings

Editorial review

Not yet reviewed by our editors.

Community rating
No community votes yet · ranking needs 25+ votes
Your quality rating
Your originality rating

Prototype: your vote is kept only in this browser and is not counted anywhere.

Ranking positions
Player reviews

No player reviews yet.

Prototype: reviews are stored in your browser only and are not published or sent to a server. Reviews are shown in the language they were written in.

Sources

SourceTypePublishedAccessed
Archmage Idle on Steam
Steam
Store pageNot confirmedNov 3, 2026
Archmage Idle on the App Store
Apple App Store
Store pageNot confirmedNov 3, 2026
TopCog – Indie Game Studio
TopCog
Official siteNot confirmedNov 3, 2026
Archmage Idle is now available on Android, iOS, and Steam! (r/incremental_games, u/TopCog; mirror snapshot)
Reddit (via reddit.sentinel-team.org archive)
Social postNot confirmedNov 3, 2026
Verification: VerifiedLast verified: Nov 3, 2026OfficialDeveloperThird-PartyObservedUnverified
Are you the developer? Claim this profile

Similar games

Comparable games by genre, gameplay, AI tool and platform.