
Unforgiving Dungeon
A free, turn-based roguelike dungeon crawler: pick a weapon, survive five procedural levels of traps and bosses, and climb the Steam leaderboards.
Links go to the official store or developer page. Last verified Nov 4, 2026.
Where to play
Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.
- View on SteamSteamReleasedFree
Download through the Steam app. A free Steam account is required.
Desktop · Steam
About Unforgiving Dungeon
Unforgiving Dungeon is a free, tactical, turn-based roguelike dungeon crawler in 2D pixel art. You choose a starting weapon and work your way through five procedurally generated levels of cavernous rooms, surviving hidden traps and defeating bosses, and your points go onto global Steam leaderboards; a September update made the leaderboard add up previous runs as well as showing your personal best. The developer's Steam AI disclosure says Unity AI Assistant was used to generate all of the code, most of the sprites and the artwork, except for the tile set. The developer, who calls the project a solo one, released it in Early Access on 3 Sep 2026 and took it out of Early Access on 24 Oct 2026, writing that it had been released for free to share their work and get their name out there, and that it will stay free; the same post announces the next project, Desktop Goblins. Free on Steam for Windows; Steam lists English as the only language.
Screenshots and art
Unforgiving Dungeon key art · Steam store artwork
How it was built
Partially verifiedThe developer's Steam AI disclosure says, in full: “Unity AI Assistant was used to generate most sprites, all the code, and artwork with the exception of the tile set.” Unity AI Assistant is the AI assistant built into the Unity editor; it has no tool entry here. No model or workflow is described.
Per the Steam disclosure, Unity AI Assistant generated all of the code, most sprites and the artwork; the tile set is the exception. The developer released the game in Early Access as a solo project, added nine interface languages, weapon and boss descriptions and a music volume setting in September updates, and ended Early Access in October.
- Engine / framework
- Unity
- Languages
- Not disclosed
- Team size
- 1 (solo)Developer ReportedSteam (AIVision)
- Development time
- Not disclosed
- Development cost
- Not disclosed
- AI-written code
- Not disclosed
“Unity AI Assistant was used to generate most sprites, all the code, and artwork with the exception of the tile set.”Verification notes: The AI claim rests on the developer-written AI disclosure on the game's Steam page (read on 4 Nov 2026), which says Unity AI Assistant generated all the code, most sprites and the artwork apart from the tile set. Unity AI Assistant has no tool entry here, so the tool is recorded as undisclosed with the name in the usage text. The engine is recorded as Unity because Unity AI Assistant works inside the Unity editor; the developer does not name the engine separately. Team size 1 rests on the launch post (“As a solo developer, your feedback is essential”). No source describes AI running during play. Early Access date from the store page, full release date, price, platform and languages from the Steam store API; updates from the developer's Steam announcements of 3, 14 and 19 Sep and 24 Oct 2026; the review count from the store page on 4 Nov 2026. No website is listed; location is not stated.
Development history
Released free in Early Access on Steam for Windows.
Update adds nine interface languages besides English, at a player's request.
DeveloperSteam (AIVision)Update adds weapon and boss descriptions and a music volume setting; the leaderboard now adds up previous runs and shows a personal best.
DeveloperSteam (AIVision)Leaves Early Access, still free; the developer announces the next project, Desktop Goblins.
DeveloperSteam (AIVision)
Game performance
Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.
Steam
Free on the Steam store API on 4 Nov 2026. Windows only.
All reviews as shown on the store page on 4 Nov 2026; Steam shows no score until a game has 10 reviews.
Not publicly available: Concurrent players, Positive Steam reviews, Estimated owners, Copies sold, Gross revenue.
Reviews & rankings
Not yet reviewed by our editors.
Not currently ranked.
Sources
| Source | Type | Published | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unforgiving Dungeon on Steam (store page incl. AI Generated Content Disclosure) Steam | Store page | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Game released!! Steam (AIVision) | Devlog | Sep 3, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Added 10 common Languages Steam (AIVision) | Devlog | Sep 14, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Update notes for 9/19/2026 Steam (AIVision) | Devlog | Sep 19, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Unforgiving Dungeon is leaving Early Access Steam (AIVision) | Devlog | Oct 24, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
- Interface languages
- The developer's update post of 14 Sep 2026 says nine languages were added besides English (Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Simplified Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Russian); the Steam store lists English only. (Steam (AIVision), Steam)
Similar games





