
The Carcass
A keyboard-only ASCII colony sim inside a dead god's corpse, coded mainly by Claude Code and Codex.
Links go to the official store or developer page. Last verified Nov 3, 2026.
Where to play
Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.
- View on SteamSteamReleased$9.99
Download through the Steam app. A free Steam account is required.
Desktop · Steam
About The Carcass
The Carcass is a keyboard-only colony survival game drawn in retro terminal ASCII and set inside the rotting body of a dead god. You harvest biomass, calcium, bile and neurons, build chambers and forges across its anatomy, manage citizens with traits and scars, research combat, production, diplomacy and forbidden arts, and send warriors into the marrow with permadeath. Lovecraftian events are told in text and settled by choices that carry forward, towards five main endings and four hidden ones. The developer's Steam AI disclosure says the code was written primarily with AI coding agents (Claude Code and Codex CLI) on the developer's own architecture and system design, then revised and debugged by hand; writing, translations, music, sound, voice lines and store art were also made with AI. The developer says the disclosure went live only hours after the August 2026 launch. It is a paid Windows game on Steam, and 23% of its 76 reviews were positive on 3 Nov 2026.
Screenshots and art
The Carcass key art · Steam store artwork
How it was built
VerifiedThe developer's Steam AI disclosure says the code was written primarily with AI coding agents, naming Claude Code and Codex CLI, on the developer's own architecture and system design, and then revised and debugged by hand. The game design, systems, economy, world and endings are listed as not AI. How the work was split between the two agents is not stated.
- DeveloperLaunch-week post: the AI disclosure went live hours after release and was later extended to name the music and store art; the developer tells players for whom that is a dealbreaker to refund the game. — Steam (PiqFocus Interactive)
Codex CLI is named alongside Claude Code in the developer's AI disclosure as one of the agents that wrote most of the code.
One developer, per the launch-week post, designed the architecture, systems, economy, world and endings, and had AI coding agents (Claude Code and Codex CLI) write most of the code, which the developer then revised and debugged by hand. Events, lore and interface text were drafted with AI from the developer's setting and outlines and then edited; every language other than English was translated with AI and checked by automated and manual passes; about 200 music tracks, the sound effects, voice lines and store art were AI-generated; and the in-game ASCII art was made with AI help and corrected by hand. The developer describes more than 350 authored events that link together during play, and the AI disclosure says nothing is generated while you play: there is no model in the build and no network call.
- Engine / framework
- Not disclosed
- Languages
- Not disclosed
- Team size
- 1 (solo)Developer ReportedSteam (PiqFocus Interactive)
- Development time
- Not disclosed
- Development cost
- Not disclosed
- AI-written code
- Not disclosed
“Code — written primarily with AI coding agents (Claude Code, Codex CLI), on my own architecture and system design, then revised and debugged by hand.”Verification notes: AI use from the developer-written AI disclosure on the game's Steam page, which names Claude Code and Codex CLI for the code; Codex CLI is recorded as Codex. The developer's Steam news post of 12 Aug 2026 says the disclosure was published hours after release and later extended to the music and store art. Solo development from that post (“I'm one person, and this is my game”); earlier announcements say “we”, and the 2.0 post (28 Jun 2026) says the game “is built by a tiny team” and calls it “made by hand”, which the later AI disclosure contradicts. Release date, US price, platform and languages from the Steam store API; review figures from the store page (the review API returned nothing when checked). Engine and programming language are not stated. The same Steam publisher sells seven other games in a PiqFocus Collection bundle; whether those were made with AI was not checked. The 35,000-wishlist figure is the developer's own and is kept in the history. The AI disclosure says nothing is generated while you play (no model in the build, no network call), and the developer describes the events as authored.
Development history
A free demo is offered as part of Steam Typing Fest 2026 (5–9 Feb).
OfficialSteam (PiqFocus Interactive)Pre-launch update 2.0: choices now return as named consequences later in a run, over 350 authored events thread together during play, and the dead god's attention becomes a mechanic.
OfficialSteam (PiqFocus Interactive)The developer announces 35,000 wishlists, a week before launch.
DeveloperSteam (PiqFocus Interactive)Released on Steam for Windows.
OfficialSteamAfter hard early reviews, the developer posts that the AI disclosure went live hours after release and first left out the music and store art, calls that their own fault, tells players for whom it is a dealbreaker to refund the game, and removes the word “hand-written” from the store description.
DeveloperSteam (PiqFocus Interactive)
Game performance
Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.
Steam
US$9.99 on the Steam store API (US region, no discount) on 3 Nov 2026. A soundtrack is sold separately as DLC. Windows only.
As shown on the store page. The developer's launch-week post acknowledges hard reviews and objections to the game's AI use; we have not analysed the reviews.
Not publicly available: Concurrent players, Estimated owners, Gross revenue.
Sales & revenue (all platforms)
Reviews & rankings
Not yet reviewed by our editors.
Prototype: your vote is kept only in this browser and is not counted anywhere.
No player reviews yet.
Prototype: reviews are stored in your browser only and are not published or sent to a server. Reviews are shown in the language they were written in.
Sources
| Source | Type | Published | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Carcass on Steam Steam | Store page | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Still here, still fixing Steam (PiqFocus Interactive) | Devlog | Aug 12, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| The Carcass is Part of Steam Typing Fest 2026! Steam (PiqFocus Interactive) | Devlog | Feb 5, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| The Carcass 2.0: The Big Update, and the Road to Launch Steam (PiqFocus Interactive) | Devlog | Jun 28, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| 35,000 Wishlists — Thank You! Steam (PiqFocus Interactive) | Devlog | Aug 4, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |





