
Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon ~The Appraiser-Shopkeeper Conquers the Blacksmith Trade~
A numbers-heavy blacksmith tycoon: appraise materials, bend the rarity of every blade you forge, and send hired adventurers into dungeons instead of fighting yourself.
Links go to the official store or developer page. Last verified Nov 3, 2026.
Where to play
Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.
- View on SteamSteamEarly access · Early Access since 13 Jun 2026; the store page estimates about three months as a baseline$14.99
Download through the Steam app. A free Steam account is required.
Desktop · Steam
About Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon ~The Appraiser-Shopkeeper Conquers the Blacksmith Trade~
Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon is a management game about running a small-town blacksmith's shop as a shopkeeper with an appraisal skill. You read raw materials and Modifiers at a glance and forge gear whose rarity rises or falls across six tiers, from Common to Artifact, depending on what you put in, built from 41 base types, 23 materials and 40 Modifiers. You never fight yourself: you hire adventurers from 79 jobs and seven ranks, equip them and send parties into ten dungeons, where combat runs automatically as a log, then forge new gear from what they bring back. Four classes of customer (citizens, adventurers, guards and the wealthy) keep their own hours and budgets. The shop runs on a 336-day calendar with debt that grows at 15% a year compounded daily, recurring bills for water, fuel, rent and mortgage, a Workshop for enhancing and re-rolling finished pieces, more than 80 tech nodes across ten trees, and Stampedes that overrun the town when dungeons are neglected. The store text says the code is by Claude and Gemini and the art by Midjourney, with the solo developer working as planner and product manager; the Steam AI disclosure says the C++ source code was developed in collaboration with Claude and Gemini and that no generative AI runs during play. In Early Access on Steam for Windows since 13 Jun 2026 at US$14.99, with a free demo; the interface is in 9 languages.
Screenshots and art
Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon ~The Appraiser-Shopkeeper Conquers the Blacksmith Trade~ key art · Steam store artwork
How it was built
Partially verifiedThe developer's Steam AI disclosure says the game's C++ source code, data structures, system architecture, gameplay specifications, in-game text and item, job and skill names were developed in collaboration with conversational AI, “Claude” by Anthropic and “Gemini” by Google, and that code generation, code review and test design are all created in collaboration with the two. The store description puts it as “Code by Claude (Anthropic) and Gemini (Google)”. The developer's own role is concept, product management, final specification decisions, Play-In-Editor testing, bug reports and release decisions, and every AI output is selected, approved and revised through specification feedback before it goes into the game. The disclosure opens by saying the title was developed with substantial assistance from generative AI; it gives no share and does not say how the work was split between Claude and Gemini.
- DeveloperThe studio site says Quench Forge develops in close collaboration with AI tools, and that every generated piece is selected, approved and revised by the developer before it reaches the game. — Quench Forge
Named alongside Claude throughout the Steam disclosure: the C++ source code, system architecture, gameplay specifications and in-game text were developed in collaboration with “Claude” by Anthropic and “Gemini” by Google, and code generation, code review and test design are created with both. The store description credits the code to Claude and Gemini. The disclosure does not say which parts each one did.
One developer plans, writes the specifications, play-tests and decides what ships; per the Steam disclosure, code, code review, test design, specifications and in-game text are produced in collaboration with Claude and Gemini, and the store art and some screenshot backgrounds were made with Midjourney v7 / Niji v7. The game is written in C++ and the disclosure mentions Play-In-Editor testing, but the engine is not named. After players reported hitches and UI bugs, the developer paused individual fixes in July 2026 to rebuild the game's foundation, which shipped on 4 Aug 2026 as the Lightweight Foundation Update (EA r167), with saves carried over.
- Engine / framework
- Not disclosed
- Languages
- C++
- Team size
- 1 (solo)Developer ReportedSteam
- Development time
- Not disclosed
- Development cost
- Not disclosed
- AI-written code
- Not disclosed
“Quench Forge is a 2026-style indie studio — a solo planner/PM working alongside an AI development team.”Verification notes: The AI claim rests on developer-written texts on the game's Steam page (re-read on 4 Nov 2026). The AI disclosure says the C++ source code, architecture, specifications and in-game text were developed in collaboration with Claude and Gemini and that code generation, code review and test design are created with them; the developer's own role, as listed there, covers concept, product management, specification decisions, testing and release decisions but not writing code, and the store description says “Code by Claude (Anthropic) and Gemini (Google)”. The disclosure also opens with “developed with substantial assistance from generative AI” and gives no share. It calls both conversational AI, so the chat assistants Claude and Gemini are recorded. Solo development from the Early Access section (“developed solo by Quench Forge”) and the developer's 18 Jul 2026 post (“I develop Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon on my own”). Steam lists quenchforge.com as the website; the site links this Steam page, calls Quench Forge an independent studio in Japan and lists six other games, which were not checked for this record. The engine is not named. The “customer AI” in the store text is ordinary game logic; the disclosure says no generative AI runs during gameplay and no online AI service is needed. Release date, price, Windows only and the 9 languages from the Steam store API; review figures from the store page on 4 Nov 2026.
Development history
Released in Early Access on Steam for Windows at US$14.99.
OfficialSteamUpdate 0 (“World Update”) makes the game playable in 9 languages and fixes slowdowns and freezes.
The developer says they work on the game alone and are pausing individual bug fixes to rebuild the game's foundation.
The Lightweight Foundation Update (EA r167) rebuilds the foundation to make the game lighter, keeping gameplay and saves; a free demo is listed on Steam the same day.
Game performance
Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.
Steam
US$14.99 on the Steam store API (US region) on 4 Nov 2026. Windows only. A free Steam demo (app 4955460, dated 4 Aug 2026).
As shown on the store page (“78% of the 19 user reviews for this game are positive”, “Mostly Positive”) on 4 Nov 2026.
Not publicly available: Concurrent players, Estimated owners, Copies sold, Gross revenue.
Reviews & rankings
Not yet reviewed by our editors.
Prototype: your vote is kept only in this browser and is not counted anywhere.
No player reviews yet.
Prototype: reviews are stored in your browser only and are not published or sent to a server. Reviews are shown in the language they were written in.
Sources
| Source | Type | Published | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon ~The Appraiser-Shopkeeper Conquers the Blacksmith Trade~ on Steam (store page incl. AI Generated Content Disclosure) Steam | Store page | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Quench Forge — Indie game studio Quench Forge | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon | Update 0 “World Update” — 9 Languages & Stability Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news) | Devlog | Jul 3, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| A note from the developer — a major overhaul is underway Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news) | Devlog | Jul 18, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon — Lightweight Foundation Update (EA r167) Patch Notes Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news) | Devlog | Aug 4, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| [Apology & Release Date Change] Our Launch Has Been Postponed to June 14 Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news) | Devlog | Jun 10, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| [Now in Early Access!] Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon is Live Today! Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news) | Devlog | Jun 13, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
- Release date
- The Steam store API dates the Early Access release 13 Jun 2026; the developer's 10 Jun 2026 post moved the launch to “June 14”, and the launch post was published on 13 Jun 2026 at 23:25 UTC (14 Jun in Japan). (Steam, Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news), Steam (Ultimate Blacksmith Tycoon news))





