
Fire Field
A Diablo-style dark fantasy ARPG whose solo developer says Claude Code wrote every line, engine included.
Links go to the official store or developer page. Last verified Nov 3, 2026.
Where to play
Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.
- View on SteamSteamEarly access$9.99
Download through the Steam app. A free Steam account is required.
Desktop · Steam
About Fire Field
Fire Field is an isometric hack-and-slash ARPG made as a tribute to Diablo 1 and Ultima Online. You gear up in town and descend through generated dungeons whose layout changes every time, with more than 8 million gear combinations, separate skill trees for the warrior and the sorceress, 24 spells, weapon and shield masteries, a companion who levels with you and a boss on every floor; when you die, you wander the dungeon as a ghost. Eight floors and two side areas are playable in Early Access. Solo developer Naoki Fujinaga (Robe of Fire), a 45-year-old from Japan with no programming experience, says he built it using only Claude Code, including a custom engine and map editor, and that not one line of code was written by a human. Translation, voice dubbing and quality checks were also done with AI. It is a paid Windows game in Early Access on Steam.
Screenshots and art
Fire Field key art · Steam store artwork
How it was built
VerifiedThe developer says the whole game, including a custom engine and map editor, was written by Claude Code and that not one line of code was written by a human; his role is direction and testing. He told ThisIsGame he mainly used the Opus model, with Sonnet for some tasks, on a Claude Max 5x plan for two months and a Max 20x plan for the final month before launch, about US$400 in total. In his own development series he writes that his first prompt, typed in Japanese on 7 Feb 2026, produced a 31-file, 3,834-line TypeScript prototype in under an hour. In the ThisIsGame interview he also names ChatGPT for images, Kling AI for video and Suno AI for music, alongside various local AI models, and says the graphics combine AI-generated images with open-source licensed assets.
- DeveloperPress kit: all of the roughly 120,000 lines of JavaScript/TypeScript at launch were generated by Claude Code; the engine, the map editor and all 100 Steam achievements were built by AI. — Robe of Fire
- DeveloperInterview (20 May 2026): he did not write a single line of code; Claude Code generated everything, mainly with Opus and with Sonnet for some tasks. — ThisIsGame
- DeveloperSteam AI disclosure: most of the game's content was created with the assistance of AI generation tools, apart from a small portion of hand-crafted assets, all reviewed and edited by the developer; no AI is used during gameplay. — Steam
Solo development directed through Claude Code with no existing game engine: the engine and map editor were written by the AI and run on browser technology (WebGL 2.0). Per the ThisIsGame interview, the developer paid no attention to structure in the first month and ran into usage limits and slow responses as the codebase grew; he then split files by system, kept an index of which file does what in CLAUDE.md, and had the AI refactor the whole codebase every one to two weeks. Graphics combine AI-generated images with open-source licensed assets. Subtitles and voice dubbing were translated and checked with AI, with native-speaker testers for the main languages. The codebase has grown from about 120,000 lines at launch (press kit) to 180,000 (developer's post, September 2026) and 230,000 (store page, November 2026).
- Engine / framework
- Custom (WebGL 2.0, built with Claude Code)
- Languages
- TypeScript, JavaScript
- Team size
- 1 (solo)Developer ReportedSteam
- Initial build time
- About 90 days, from the first prompt on 7 Feb 2026 to Steam Early Access on 8 May 2026Developer ReportedRobe of Fire
- Development time
- Not disclosed
- Development cost
- Not disclosed
- AI-written code
- ~100% of shipped codeDeveloper ReportedSteam
“The engine and the map editor are custom built. Not one line of code was written by a human.”- "How I Started a Game With AI in One Night" (developer's Steam news post)
- Fire Field press kit (official site)
Verification notes: AI use from the developer's own Steam page (“Development” section and AI disclosure), the press kit on the official site firefield.netlify.app (the website listed on Steam, which links this Steam app) and the developer's Steam news post of 23 Sep 2026; independent interviews by ThisIsGame (20 May 2026) and KoreaGameDesk (1 Jun 2026) report the same. Developer name and location (Naoki Fujinaga, Japan) from the press kit. Release date, US price, platform and languages from the Steam store API; review figures from the store page (the review API returned nothing when checked). The AI subscription cost of about US$400 comes from the interview and covers Claude plans only, so it is not recorded as the development cost. Coverage the developer cites from DER STANDARD, Vandal, The Chosun Ilbo and AppBank was not opened. The Korean name 파이어필드 is the one ThisIsGame uses; Steam shows Fire Field in every language, and the store's purchase button and URL say Firefield.
Reported popularity
Popularity labels are only shown with a source. Press reports describe attention; they are not player counts.
- Trending
ThisIsGame published an interview in which the developer says he wrote no code himself and built the game with Claude Code in three months for about US$400 in Claude subscriptions.
- Trending
KoreaGameDesk profiled the 45-year-old solo developer from Japan, reporting that Claude Code generated most of the game's roughly 120,000 lines of code.
Trending: Rising attention: a documented press report, or a high trend score from observed signals (sample values in this prototype).
Development history
The developer types his first prompt into Claude Code; less than an hour later the first commit holds a 31-file, 3,834-line TypeScript prototype. The press kit gives this day as the start of development.
Released in Early Access on Steam for Windows.
OfficialSteamThe v2.0 “Mega Update” starts, announced in five parts through 30 Sep 2026: a rebuilt dungeon, day and night in town, the Sorcerer as a playable choice, reworked defence and GeForce NOW support.
OfficialSteam (Robe of Fire)
Game performance
Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.
Steam
US$9.99 on the Steam store API (US region, no discount) on 3 Nov 2026. The developer says the price will rise as content is added. Windows only; a separate Fire Field Playtest app is also on Steam.
Not publicly available: Concurrent players, Estimated owners, Gross revenue.
Sales & revenue (all platforms)
Reviews & rankings
A Diablo-style ARPG whose old-school loot grind has appeal. But players report save/progress-reset bugs, low-contrast visuals and general roughness, and some suspect the positive reviews are padded.
Editorial team · Nov 3, 2026 · How we score
Sources
| Source | Type | Published | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Field on Steam Steam | Store page | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Fire Field — official site Robe of Fire | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Fire Field — Press Kit Robe of Fire | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| How I Started a Game With AI in One Night Steam (Robe of Fire) | Devlog | Sep 23, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Fire Field news on Steam Steam (Robe of Fire) | Devlog | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| 코딩 없이 게임을 만들었다 ― 45세 비전문가가 AI로, 단 3개월 만에 ThisIsGame · Korean | Interview | May 20, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Solo Game Developer Ships Diablo-Like Indie Game Using AI KoreaGameDesk | Press | Jun 1, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
- How much of the code AI wrote
- The developer says on the Steam page, in the press kit and to ThisIsGame that no line of code was written by a human. KoreaGameDesk (1 Jun 2026) writes both that he did not write a single line of code by hand and that Claude Code generated the majority of the roughly 120,000 lines. (Steam, Robe of Fire, ThisIsGame, KoreaGameDesk)
- Number of languages
- The Steam store lists 96 supported languages; the official site, the press kit and the developer's September 2026 post say 95 subtitle languages. All agree on 70 languages with full voice dubbing. (Steam, Robe of Fire, Steam (Robe of Fire))





