
Realm of Eldermyr
A free online RPG in the browser and on iPhone: six classes, five towns to free from the Legion and named beasts to hunt with other players. The developer calls it a vibecoded MMO made with Claude.
Official site www.eldermyr.com, verified Nov 3, 2026. Linked as “Play free” from the official site eldermyr.com, which the developer's Hacker News posts link.
Where to play
Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.
- Play free — official siteBrowserReleasedFree-to-Play
Runs in a desktop or mobile browser. No download.
Browser (no download) · Mobile · Official link verified Nov 3, 2026.
- View on the App StoreApp StoreReleasedFree
Install from Apple's App Store on an iPhone or iPad.
Mobile · Official link verified Nov 3, 2026.
About Realm of Eldermyr
Realm of Eldermyr is a free online role-playing game that plays in the browser, on phones without an install, and in an iOS app. The Legion has taken the roads and five towns, and one town still stands; you pick one of six classes, Knight (tank), Assassin, Archer, Mage, Necromancer (whose kills rise to fight for you) or Priest (healer) (the App Store description lists seven heroes, adding a freeblade), and set out with other players to take the realm back. Everyone plays the same war: a town freed by players is free for everyone. Named beasts such as the Frost Titan, the Storm Roc and the Drowned King carry loot found nowhere else, and everyone who fights one gets a share; below the world lies a sunken dungeon that goes down through catacombs, caverns and an inferno to the abyss, where the best gear is. There is a dragon to ride, and the final enemy is Malgor the Deathless. Your hero is the same on every screen. A post from a second account, not confirmed as the developer's (see the conflicts), says the world is procedurally generated anew every day and that the game uses no engine or framework. Players can buy gems for skins and home decor or become patrons; both are cosmetic only. The developer, Josiah Turnquist, has posted it on Hacker News as a vibecoded MMO: the developer says Claude did most of the first prototype, in a single HTML file, and credits Claude with the work since; a later post from another account says the game has 148,000 lines of AI-written code (see the conflicts).
How it was built
Partially verifiedIn the first Hacker News post (20 Jul 2026) the developer says Claude did most of the first, simple multiplayer version in a single HTML file of under 4,000 lines. In week 4 (16 Aug 2026) the developer says they had spent 1.3 billion tokens on it in a few weeks, with “Lots of intentionality, plus my hardworking Claude.” Posts from a second account describe the same project: “148,000 lines of AI-written code. Mostly AI-generated graphics (I tweaked a lot manually)”, “purely a test of Claude's skills + a hobby”, and that what the models could not do was balance, playtest, write marketing text or make aesthetic choices; that account says Opus 5.5 is incredible at coding and also made a 3D version of the game. The product (chat, Claude Code or API) is not stated, so Claude is recorded.
- DeveloperFirst post (josiahturnq): “what blew my mind is that Claude did most of this in a single HTML file that had <4,000 lines of code.” — Hacker News (josiahturnq)
- DeveloperWeek 7 post (josiahturnq, 12 Sep 2026): “In many ways, Opus 5 does a great job coding, making art (ish), and everything else.” The developer describes handing Opus a design spec made in Claude Design and checking on its progress hours later. — Hacker News (josiahturnq)
- UnverifiedPost by tipsy_pipsqueak: “148,000 lines of AI-written code. Mostly AI-generated graphics (I tweaked a lot manually).” The link between this account and the developer is not confirmed. — Hacker News (tipsy_pipsqueak)
Per the 28 Sep 2026 post from the second account (unverified), the only runtime dependencies are pg and ws (a PostgreSQL client and WebSockets), with no game engine or framework; the world is procedurally generated every day, with many rules for how it is generated, and the graphics are mostly AI-generated and retouched by hand. Comments in the play page's code refer to the owner's Claude Design mockups for the title screen and sign-in screens. The game also runs on the CrazyGames portal, per its code and privacy page.
- Engine / framework
- None (vanilla JavaScript)
- Languages
- JavaScript
- Team size
- Not disclosed
- Initial build time
- Not disclosed
- Development time
- Not disclosed
- Development cost
- Not disclosed
- AI-written code
- Not disclosed
“I've spend 1.3 billion tokens on this in just a few weeks. I've poured a lot of love into the details. Lots of intentionality, plus my hardworking Claude.”Verification notes: The AI claim rests on the developer's Hacker News posts as josiahturnq (20 Jul, 16 Aug and 12 Sep 2026): Claude did most of the first version's code, the developer credits “my hardworking Claude” and 1.3 billion tokens, and in week 7 says Opus 5 “does a great job coding” and describes handing it design specs to build. Two later posts (28 Sep and 12 Oct 2026) come from the account tipsy_pipsqueak, which describes the same project in the first person and gives the 148,000 lines of AI-written code; we could not confirm that it is the same person, so those claims are marked unverified. The developer's name is from the App Store listing (seller Josiah Turnquist), and the privacy page's contact address uses josiahturnq. The 10 weeks of development and the “1k players” come from the title of the 12 Oct post by the second account and are not recorded as metrics. Classes, towns, bosses, dungeon and cross-device play from the official site; purchases and their cosmetic-only effect from the privacy page (last updated 30 Oct 2026). App Store release date (1 Nov 2026), price, English language and 12+ rating from Apple's lookup data on 4 Nov 2026, which showed one rating. The play page loaded on 4 Nov 2026 (English); its code mentions Claude only in comments about design mockups and makes no calls to AI services. A 3D version at 3d.eldermyr.com, mentioned by the second account, was not opened. The game was not played.
Development history
The developer posts a first, simple multiplayer version on Hacker News; Claude did most of it in a single HTML file, per the developer.
DeveloperHacker News (josiahturnq)“Wk. 4 of Vibecoding an MMO” on Hacker News, now at eldermyr.com.
DeveloperHacker News (josiahturnq)A post from a second account describes 148,000 lines of AI-written code and an iOS app not yet released.
UnverifiedHacker News (tipsy_pipsqueak)Released free on the US App Store.
Game performance
Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.
Browser (official site)
Free to play in the browser with an account; optional gems (for skins and home decor) and patron status are paid through Stripe and are cosmetic only, per the privacy page.
No public metrics recorded for this listing.
Not publicly available: Concurrent players (site), Monthly revenue, Gross revenue.
App Store (iOS)
Free on the US App Store (Apple's lookup data, 4 Nov 2026). The privacy page says the iOS app has no chat; the App Store description says there are no purchases, no ads and no energy timers.
No public metrics recorded for this listing.
Not publicly available: Gross revenue.
Sales & revenue (all platforms)
Browser game — there are no downloads to count.
Reviews & rankings
Not yet reviewed by our editors.
Not currently ranked.
Sources
| Source | Type | Published | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vibe-coded a simplistic multiplayer game Hacker News (josiahturnq) | Social post | Jul 20, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Wk. 4 of Vibecoding an MMO Hacker News (josiahturnq) | Social post | Aug 16, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Week 7 update on Realm of Eldermyr (the developer's comment on their own post) Hacker News (josiahturnq) | Social post | Sep 12, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| A Vibecoded MMO with hours of playable content Hacker News (tipsy_pipsqueak) | Social post | Sep 28, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Hit 10 wks and 1k players with a vibecoded MMO Hacker News (tipsy_pipsqueak) | Social post | Oct 12, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Realm of Eldermyr · Play free in your browser Eldermyr | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Eldermyr · Privacy Eldermyr | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Realm of Eldermyr on the App Store Apple App Store (Josiah Turnquist) | Store page | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Official game page (language check) Eldermyr | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
- Who posted
- The posts of 20 Jul and 16 Aug 2026 come from the Hacker News account josiahturnq, which matches the developer's contact address; the posts of 28 Sep and 12 Oct 2026, which give the 148,000 lines of AI-written code, come from tipsy_pipsqueak. Both describe the same weekly project in the first person, but no source links the two accounts. (Hacker News (josiahturnq), Hacker News (tipsy_pipsqueak), Eldermyr)





