
backroad rally
A small top-down rally game with a diorama look, free in the browser: five cars, six stages, weather, times of day and a short career against ghost rivals. The README says Claude Code with Opus 5.5 wrote almost all of it.
Official site jason-c-dev.github.io, verified Nov 3, 2026. Linked as “PLAY HERE” in the README of the developer's repository jason-c-dev/backroad-rally.
Where to play
Every platform this game is on. Links are checked against official sources; we never host or mirror games.
- Play free — official siteBrowserReleasedFree
Runs in a desktop browser. No download.
Browser (no download) · Official link verified Nov 3, 2026.
- View on GitHubGitHubReleased · Source code of the web version (TypeScript, three.js, Rapier; MIT licence); no download of the Unreal Engine 5 desktop version was foundFree
Download from the GitHub releases page.
Desktop · Official link verified Nov 3, 2026.
About backroad rally
backroad rally is a small top-down rally game with a diorama look, free in the browser. Its README calls it a free, open-source, non-commercial demo with five cars from four eras (the 1960s to the 1990s), six point-to-point stages of about 3 km each, set in Finland, Japan, the Alps, Wales, Arizona and Vermont and run forward or in reverse, five times of day, and rain and snow that change grip, handling, look and sound. The career has four seasons of four rallies against nine simulated rivals, who also race as ghosts, with points, standings and damage that carries between the stages of a rally; there are also quick stage and time-attack modes, jumps, bridges, a ford, a canyon and crowds. It is played with keyboard or gamepad, and the README says it holds 60 fps on an integrated GPU in Chrome or Firefox. The developer names art of rally by Funselektor Labs as the inspiration, says the project has no connection with its makers, and says nothing was taken from it: every model, texture, sound, track and line of code is new. According to the README, Claude Code with Claude Opus 5.5 wrote almost all of the game: first a desktop version in Unreal Engine 5 in about four days, then a port of that game to the web, while one developer gave the ideas, made the decisions and played every build. The code is MIT-licensed.
How it was built
Partially verifiedThe README says an AI coding agent, Claude Code with Claude Opus 5.5, wrote almost all of the game: first a desktop version in Unreal Engine 5 (C++ and Python, with meshes from headless Blender scripts) in about four days, then a port to the web in TypeScript with three.js and Rapier, in eleven slices over about three days. Per the making-of, Claude Code wrote a design, a technical specification and a build plan, then started background agents, each with a written brief and a report; the developer played each build and wrote notes that became the next phase, and the last four slices ran overnight. Its numbers chapter says Opus 5.5 was the only model in the logs, on a Max 20x plan ($200 a month), across 4 sessions and 62 agent transcripts, with about 2.13 billion tokens in total (97.2% of them cache reads) and about 2.5 million output tokens; at API prices the same tokens would have cost $769.35. Sound effects and music were generated with ElevenLabs.
- DeveloperMaking-of: “Claude Code used one model, Claude Opus 5.5, for all the work, on a Max 20x plan.” — GitHub (jason-c-dev)
Two stages, per the making-of: an Unreal Engine 5 game (about 27,600 lines of C++ plus about 13,500 lines of Blender Python, 95 commits) made in about four days, then a web version (about 17,500 lines of TypeScript, 47 commits on main from 22 pull requests) that treated the Unreal project as a read-only reference and converted its data, meshes and sound. 221 automatic handling checks compare each car with the Unreal version, and an autopilot drives every stage. The whole project took about 6.8 days. The developer's actual cost was one $200 month of the Max 20x plan, which also paid for other work that month, so no game-only cost is recorded.
- Engine / framework
- Three.js and Rapier (web port of an Unreal Engine 5 version)
- Languages
- TypeScript
- Team size
- 1 (solo)Developer ReportedGitHub (jason-c-dev)
- Initial build time
- About four days for the Unreal Engine 5 desktop version; the web port took about three moreDeveloper ReportedGitHub (jason-c-dev)
- Development time
- Not disclosed
- Development cost
- Not disclosed
- AI-written code
- Not disclosed
“An AI coding agent, Claude Code with Claude Opus 5.5, wrote almost all of this game.”Verification notes: Features, credits and AI use come from the README and the making-of (index, chapter 1 and chapter 9), read through raw.githubusercontent.com; the MIT licence is from the LICENSE file (© 2026 jason-c-dev). github.com and the GitHub API did not answer our checks, so commit dates and stars are unchecked; the making-of counts days (day 1 to day 8) without calendar dates, so no release date is known. The hosted game loaded on 4 Nov 2026 (English). Team size 1 rests on “One developer gave the ideas, made the decisions and played every build”. The making-of says that on day 2 the developer asked for a game “as close to the original as possible” to art of rally, and that only public screenshots and descriptions were used as visual reference, with no files, code, assets, names, logos or music taken and nothing reverse-engineered; art of rally is not named in the game, so no IP notice is recorded. The Unreal Engine 5 desktop version is described as a read-only reference; no public build of it was found. The README badge says the game is mentioned in the Awesome AI-Built Games list (not press). Nothing in the sources describes AI used during play. The game was not played.
Game performance
Each figure measures something different — concurrent players, owners, downloads and sales are never interchangeable and are never added together. Labels show where each number comes from.
Browser (official site)
Free in the browser (Chrome with WebGPU or WebGL2, or Firefox with WebGL2); keyboard, mouse or gamepad. Best times, ghosts and the career are saved in the browser.
No public metrics recorded for this listing.
Not publicly available: Concurrent players (site), Monthly revenue, Gross revenue.
GitHub
No public metrics recorded for this listing.
Not publicly available: GitHub stars.
Sales & revenue (all platforms)
Browser game — there are no downloads to count.
Reviews & rankings
Not yet reviewed by our editors.
Not currently ranked.
Sources
| Source | Type | Published | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| backroad rally — README (section “Made with Claude Code and other apps”) GitHub (jason-c-dev) | Repository | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| The making-of backroad rally (index, “The idea and the inspiration”, “By the numbers”) GitHub (jason-c-dev) | Devlog | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| backroad rally (hosted game) jason-c-dev (GitHub Pages) | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Official game page (language check) jason-c-dev | Official site | Not confirmed | Nov 3, 2026 |
Similar games





